Liebster Blog Award!

10 Jul

Now that I finally have some time to work on this, I’m thrilled to say that I was nominated twice for a Liebster Blog Award! Thankyou to Emily at From the Horse’s Mouth and to Brianna at Journey of a Dressage Student for the nominations!

As part of the award, I’m supposed to list 11 random facts about myself, so here’s what I’ve come up with:

1. I’ve been vegetarian for the last 6 years.

2. I love travelling and in 2007 climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro in Tanzania, and in 2010 hiked the Inca Trail in Peru.

3. I lived in rural Kenya for three months (complete with no electricity and a toilet hole!) while participating in an environmental internship.

4. I have 2 cats, one which I adopted from the Humane Society (Simba) and the other who was dumped at the side of the road at the barn (Sunshine).

5. My boyfriend and I are in the process of shacking up (haha) and he will be adding his cat (Sadie) to the mix!

6. I live in the suburbs and have a birdfeeder in my backyard, which gets frequented by an array of birds, my favourite being a pair of ducks.

7. I love watching the Real Housewives series…like, a lot.

8. I also love watching the Millionaire Matchmaker.

9. I was accepted into the environmental science and fine arts programs at university, I chose environmental science.

10. Cream in coffee makes me nauseous, although I love all things creamy.

11. I have no idea how to properly use WordPress, notice how the photos are always at the bottom of the post?!

Here are my answers to Emily’s questions:

1. What are your colors for you and your horse?

Either royal blue, or red…I wanted it to be orange but I couldn’t find any nice orange saddle pads.

2. Do you have any random talents?

My shoulders/arms are pretty flexible, makes for a good party trick sometimes!

3. What is your biggest pet peeve?

People who don’t say “excuse me” when they want past you, and people who don’t hold the door for you.

4. Who is your equestrian idol?

Pat Parelli

5. Do you like to read? If so, what was the last good book you read?

I like to read, but never seem to have time to do it. I read a book called “Desire and Ice” which is about a guy climbing Mt. Denali and loved it.

6. What is your most embarrassing horse moment?

Probably my recent episodes at TB’s with Amber freaking out, TB seeing it all unfold and me standing there like a dummy.

7. Do you have any random obsessions?

I love buying toilet paper on sale…I literally have 72 double rolls stockpiled in my house. The sales are so amazing on TP that I cannot fathom ever buying it when it’s not on sale.

8. If you could be friends with anyone famous, who would it be?

Pat Parelli!

9. Favorite song at the moment?

I don’t know who sings it, but there’s an acoustic version of “Somewhere over the rainbow” that I’ve heard a couple times and LOVE.

10. What is your horse’s favorite treat?

I made home-made treats for him at xmas and he flipped over them.

11. Post your favorite picture of your horse .

Posted below.

And here are my answers to Brianna’s questions:

1. How do you manage to fit riding into your life?

Schedule, schedule, schedule!

2. If you could train with anyone for one year, who would it be and why?

Pat Parelli.

3. What is your dream job (horse related or otherwise)?

Being a horse trainer of troubled horses who were getting their last chance with a success rate of 100%


4. What has been your biggest disappointment when riding?

Having Corona blow his mind at shows and run around like a giraffe on speed.

5. What has been the happiest achievement in your riding?

Pretty much when I think of how obnoxious Corona was when he first arrived to where he is now – everything from his new found relaxation, to him standing still for more than 3 seconds, to him happily stretching.


6. Tell me about your favorite horse.

I have a horse-loving problem, I just love them all. I will honour Jackpot (RIP) in this answer though. He was a 10-yr old Standardbred ex-pacer who had won over $300k for during his lifetime. His sire was in the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame and actually attended his own entrance celebration. He was the first horse I rode at the Boss’ and he was the go-to for any friends that arrived at the barn. He was never truly sound but he was happy. Last fall I arrived at the barn and he was gone, he had been sent for meat to make a quick buck off his life. I’m sickened every time I think about it.

7. Does your family support your riding and if so, how and if not, how do you deal with it?

They are supportive, but they don’t understand the obsession and are terrified of horses themselves. I deal with it by picking and choosing which details I share with them. They do howeve, always come out to competitions to show their support!

8. Tell me about your biggest “aha” moment.

When I realized that horse people can be just as full of sh*t as everyone else and that in 90% of cases, “facts” are merely “opinions”.

9. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?

I have no idea – I love Ottawa but could do without such an extended winter!

10. Describe your dream horse (price is no object).

I’ve always loved Oldenburgs, but I also love paints – an oldenburg x paint cross gelding with one blue eye and a bald face that is 16.3hh and is super affectionate and follows me around like a puppy but is also very happy on his own.


11. What is your favorite horse items (tack or apparel)?

I love my summer riding tights (Elation brand).

I’m also supposed to nominate 11 bloggers and ask them 11 questions, but I’m way late to this game and all the blogs I read have already been nominated!

20130710-111957.jpg

2 Responses to “Liebster Blog Award!”

  1. Brianna August 2, 2013 at 11:47 am #

    I am late commenting on this but I loved your answers and my heart aches for Jackpot. 😦

    • pacesandtails August 15, 2013 at 5:33 pm #

      And now I’m late responding! Thanks muchly, Jackpot was amazing ❤

Leave a Reply

Tails From Provence

What happens when a horsemad Ould Wagon moves from Cork to Provence with 2 horses, 2 dogs and a Long Suffering Husband? Why, she gets a third dog, discovers Natural Horsemanship à la Française and starts writing short stories, of course...

Life as Maddi

Hobby photographer, amateur climber, hiker, sailor, equestrian and wannabe adventurer.

lifeicandme

Life Love and Laughter with a Long Term Illness.

Horses, you say?

Equestrian blogging & then some

Linda's Blog

The personal blog of Linda Parelli

Bob the Equestrian

From delusion to the hospital

Savvy With Sonny

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

Goal Habits.com

Daily Nourishment For Goal Achievement, Success, and Life

Confident Horsemanship with Anne Gage

The Relationship Coach for Horsewomen (and their horses)

Alternative Horsemanship with Samantha Harvey

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

School Your Horse

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

A Filly's Best Friend

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

Green Slobber

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

