Corona’s springtime tune-up

3 May

So yesterday I decided to take the day off work to get in some much-needed spring cleaning and tune-up work at the barn.

The vet was coming out to do vaccinations, Coggins, and float teeth so I thought I’d take advantage of the sedation and do Corona’s sheath at the same time.

I’ve never actually witnessed Corona with the vet because I have a 9-5 job during the week. I do, however, always hear the, “that Corona is such an @ss!” stories of how he won’t stand still and how he lunges away from needles. I was interested to see this for myself, because I find that there is a bit of a bias towards my Corona in general at the barn, in the sense that if he’s naughty once, then people tend to generalize the he’s ALWAYS naughty. I was actually having a conversation with CG on the weekend that somewhat related to this– I was telling her that I’ve found that since Corona had his aggression issues, the degree of negative comments about him has really increased, despite those issues being resolved (knock on wood). Normally I just let them go and don’t think anything of them, but when you hear negative things all the time, I think it’s human nature to start to listen to them, even if it’s just a little bit. On several occasions I found myself questioning whether Corona and I were a good fit together and whether he really is the @sshole horse that others tell me he is. I’m not going to say he is the most perfectly behaved horse out there, but he is not a mean horse whatsoever. He’s just what I’d call a “high maintenance” horse in the sense that he’s not for beginner, and you need to have his attention on you when you’re working around him, otherwise he’ll do what he likes.

Anyways, back to the vet – I was the assistant yesterday, holding the horses for the vet as the Boss isn’t strong enough if any of them act up. I brought Corona out, the vet took a vial of blood from his neck for his Coggins test, gave him his vaccine in the bum and that was that! Corona stood like a gentleman without any issue! This also included standing still while we chatted to the vet about his leg and while the vet took down his markings for the Coggins. I was so proud of him and so proud that the Boss was standing right there and saw the whole thing. At one point I turned to the Boss and said, “that was really good, you had me a bit worried that he was going to misbehave, he was perfect!”

We finished up the vaccines on the rest of the horses and then moved onto teeth. We saved Corona for last so that I could do his sheath while he was still a bit dopey. I knew his teeth needed done as he’s been leaning on the bit lately, especially on the right rein, he’s also been grinding his jaw a little bit too. The vet found quite a few sharp edges and we discussed doing his teeth every 9 months instead of 12, which is a-ok with me.

That was the end of the vet work and so I started on the lovely job of sheath cleaning. I’d say it was about 95% successful, but was a tad difficult because even with the sedation, Corona didn’t ahem, “drop”. This is likely TMI – but I was quite surprised at how strong those muscles are as I tried to hold it a couple of times when it did make an appearance, but only for about 10 seconds at a time before he pulled it up again…I tried holding on, but it escaped every time. I still got a lot of gunk out of there and heard an interesting tip from the vet – he said to put some KY jelly up there once/week to keep it clean…never would have thought of that. I may or may not do it, as I don’t imagine that it would be terribly comfortable to always have it up there.

I took a couple of photos of Corona while he was under the influence…these are towards the end so he’s not as dopey looking as he was, but I still find them pretty funny. Never mind the wonky halter/x-tie job…the vet did him up on one side, and I clipped him on the other and we used different rings…and the chin strap on his halter was still undone and clipped on the other side from his teeth floating.

20130503-110053.jpg

20130503-110128.jpg

20130503-110201.jpg

Leave a Reply

Tails From Provence

What happens when a horsemad Ould Wagon moves from Cork to Provence with 2 horses, 2 dogs and a Long Suffering Husband? Why, she gets a third dog, discovers Natural Horsemanship à la Française and starts writing short stories, of course...

Life as Maddi

Hobby photographer, amateur climber, hiker, sailor, equestrian and wannabe adventurer.

lifeicandme

Life Love and Laughter with a Long Term Illness.

Horses, you say?

Equestrian blogging & then some

Linda's Blog

The personal blog of Linda Parelli

Bob the Equestrian

From delusion to the hospital

Savvy With Sonny

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

Goal Habits.com

Daily Nourishment For Goal Achievement, Success, and Life

Confident Horsemanship with Anne Gage

The Relationship Coach for Horsewomen (and their horses)

Alternative Horsemanship with Samantha Harvey

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

School Your Horse

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

A Filly's Best Friend

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

Green Slobber

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

