It was one of “those” rides

26 Apr

Must not get discouraged. Must not get discouraged. Must not get discouraged.

My ride last night on Corona was not the best ride we’ve ever had. It wasn’t the worst either, but if left much to be desired.

The weather was relatively nice out, but it was breezy. I didn’t think this would cause a problem because it’s been much windier lately and that hasn’t seemed to bother him too much, but I think it added to the issues we were having. He just wouldn’t relax at all. It was like riding a bracy giraffe and no matter what I did, I couldn’t get him to concentrate on me for more than a few strides. I tried doing transitions, I tried leg yielding, I tried circles and figure eights, nothing worked.

On top of all this, a squirrel (or some small animal) dashed through the long grass at the “scary” corner of the track. The horses are always iffy at this spot, and unfortunately this little critter further reinforced that. Corona spooked and shot forward, I got him back to a walk and thought I’d try and circle back immediately. We went past again but it was to no avail, Corona was checked out. I turned him round again and we merrily side-passed (note sarcasm) up the long side of the track with snorts flying and tails swishing. I asked for some circles at the other end of the track and he started to relax a bit. I eventually took him back up to the scary corner and we walked by with just a bit of hesitation. Trotting to the right was fine, but trotting to the left was not (this was the direction we were going when the incident occurred). I continued to try to the left with some transitions thrown in and it got a bit better. As soon as we were past the corner, he was fine in both directions.

We ended our ride with some trotting on a long rein where I asked him to stretch, and he obliged for the most part. Then as I was about to end our ride, he just sped up and up and up. It was horrid. Circling did nothing, he just plowed on, flexing didn’t work, nothing worked. I asked for a walk, took him around the outside of the ring once, and then called it quits.

I was nearly in tears during the circling incident, not sure if it was tears of frustration or doubt that this horse is ever going to be consistent. It was so discouraging.

I went home and watched my Parelli videos, I’m looking forward to getting out there again tomorrow and Sunday; I’ve decided not to audit the Cindy Ishoy clinic as I’m pretty sure it’s a better use of my time to work with my own horse.

To end on a positive note however, Corona was excellent while I groomed him and fiddled about with saddle fitting experiments.

20130426-141903.jpg

5 Responses to “It was one of “those” rides”

  1. magreenlee April 27, 2013 at 3:41 am #

    Ooh I’ve had days like that with Aero – recently I had a couple of good arena sessions where I actually felt like I could ride him, then this week it was awful, like riding a super-bouncy giraffe 😦
    Just remember, if it was easy, everyone would be doing it.

    • pacesandtails April 27, 2013 at 9:41 am #

      That’s a very good point 🙂 I’m trying to remember that horses have their own minds…they’re not robots and we have to consider the type of day they’re having too. I’m on my way to the barn now, and despite everything I’m actually really looking forward to it!

    • pacesandtails May 3, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

      I think I may have accidentally flagged your latest comment on my other post!! I have no idea what the flag means… But now your comment disappeared so I assume its not a good thing!! SO sorry, hopefully I will figure out how to work WordPress someday!! 🙂

      • magreenlee May 3, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

        Lol I have no idea what it means either…. you may have marked me as a spammer!

      • pacesandtails May 3, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

        Lol! I’ll defend you to the spam police if they ask 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tails From Provence

What happens when a horsemad Ould Wagon moves from Cork to Provence with 2 horses, 2 dogs and a Long Suffering Husband? Why, she gets a third dog, discovers Natural Horsemanship à la Française and starts writing short stories, of course...

Life as Maddi

Hobby photographer, amateur climber, hiker, sailor, equestrian and wannabe adventurer.

lifeicandme

Life Love and Laughter with a Long Term Illness.

Horses, you say?

Equestrian blogging & then some

Linda's Blog

The personal blog of Linda Parelli

Bob the Equestrian

From delusion to the hospital

Savvy With Sonny

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

Goal Habits.com

Daily Nourishment For Goal Achievement, Success, and Life

Confident Horsemanship with Anne Gage

The Relationship Coach for Horsewomen (and their horses)

Alternative Horsemanship with Samantha Harvey

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

School Your Horse

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

A Filly's Best Friend

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

Green Slobber

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

