Part 2 – Sunday

21 Mar

Part 2 – Sunday

I went out to the barn expecting the worse and dreading the conversation that I was going to have. The Boss came out and before I could speak to her, the Trainer and CG showed up. When things quietened down, I filled CG in on what happened and she told me a tidbit of information that I couldn’t believe – that the previous day, the Boss had told SM that she (the Boss) “might have to make the decision” for me!

I was appalled. At this point I really wondered whether I had a fighting chance in this, but I took the approach of “if it’s not said to me, I’m going to assume I know nothing about it!”

CG and I rode, and Corona was great. He was fantastic to tack up, pretty darn fresh to ride, but he calmed down really nicely. I won’t lie, I had a little talk with him as well, explaining to him the importance of us working together and him keeping his “insanity” in check as this was literally a life or death moment. He didn’t’ say anything to disagree with me, so I assume he agreed J

After our ride, I went to see the Boss in her house. I walked in and said, “Corona was great today, he wasn’t aggressive at all. I got your email and I am not ready to give up on him. I don’t think this horse is crazy, I think he’s dominant and testing me. I want to continue to work with him and I’m positive that the way to fix these issues that we’ve been having is to continue with groundwork and gaining his respect.” Aside from an eye roll when I said that the horse wasn’t crazy, the Boss seemed satisfied. She reiterated that she wanted to make sure I was still enjoying working with him because riding should be fun, and that she didn’t want to put me in an unsafe situation. We discussed various approaches and agreed that I shouldn’t always give Corona the benefit of the doubt (yes, I’m guilty of that), and that I need to not feel mean if I discipline him…we’re not talking beating him or anything, just following through more firmly. She said that she’s extremely pleased with the work I’ve done on Corona as well as the previous horses I’ve worked with, and the issues are not things that I have created.

I recognize that the Boss is coming from good intentions. I also know that part of it comes from the fact that the Trainer is supposedly leaving the barn in May and so the Boss will not have the help that she has now. I know that she is a bit nervous about her own ability to handle the horse if he becomes unruly, because she finds it difficult to handle any horse that doesn’t stand as still as a statue. That being said, I don’t believe that her concerns are strictly related to Corona but he was the easiest target because of the issues we’ve been having as of late.

I truly believe that I can improve this horse, and feel quite strongly about it. I fully understand that there are situations where horses can be dangerous and that the most humane thing to do is to put them down if there problems cannot be resolved, however I’m confident that this is definitely not one of these cases.

20130321-112516.jpg

Leave a Reply

Tails From Provence

What happens when a horsemad Ould Wagon moves from Cork to Provence with 2 horses, 2 dogs and a Long Suffering Husband? Why, she gets a third dog, discovers Natural Horsemanship à la Française and starts writing short stories, of course...

Life as Maddi

Hobby photographer, amateur climber, hiker, sailor, equestrian and wannabe adventurer.

lifeicandme

Life Love and Laughter with a Long Term Illness.

Horses, you say?

Equestrian blogging & then some

Linda's Blog

The personal blog of Linda Parelli

Bob the Equestrian

From delusion to the hospital

Savvy With Sonny

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

Goal Habits.com

Daily Nourishment For Goal Achievement, Success, and Life

Confident Horsemanship with Anne Gage

The Relationship Coach for Horsewomen (and their horses)

Alternative Horsemanship with Samantha Harvey

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

School Your Horse

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

A Filly's Best Friend

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

Green Slobber

The adventures of an adult amateur rider

